Dedication by Emma McLaughlin and Nicola Kraus

Dedication is a fun, breezy, quick read written by Emma McLaughlin and Nicola Kraus, whose previous works includes The Nanny Diaries and Citizen Girl. Dedication is the story of a woman, Katie Hollis, whose ex-boyfriend is a famous musician. Not only does she have to face the humiliation of having a rock star ex, but all of his hits are based on her life. Every time one of his songs comes on the radio she gets to relive an intensely personal experience, along with the rest of the country. For the past thirteen years Katie has been waiting to confront her ex, Jake, and make him regret his entire existence. Instead, the confrontation leads to a rekindling of their romance and she begins to get swept up into his crazy, rock star life.

One thing for parents to note; there is a lot of sex in this book. It is not graphic, romance-novel sex, but there are some pretty steamy passages including an oral-sex scene that I can’t imagine happening between two high-schoolers. Also, there are a number of underage drinking references and some light drug use.  I would not recommend this book for younger high-school kids.

The book is an entertaining work of ‘chick-lit.’ It was an enjoyable read and I would recommend it. It’s certainly not a book I will reread over and over again, or one which I won’t be able to stop thinking about, but it kept me entertained for a few hours. I must admit, I was invested enough to want a happy ending, but I won’t spoil the end for you by revealing whether or not I got my wish.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

