Dragons of the Valley by Donita K. Paul – an enjoyable, but unmemorable, fantasy read

Dragons of the Valley is the sequel to Dragons of Chiril (formerly known as The Vanishing Sculptor) and the second book in the Chiril Chronicle Series. My first impression of the book is that the author was just trying too hard; the novel fantasy world in which the book is set is just a little too ‘out-there’ for my tastes. For instance, the inhabitants of this world consist of many different races and the names of these races is just plain silly in my opinion. There are seven ‘high races’ – doneels, emerlindians, kimens, mariones, o’rants, tumanhofers, and urohms. As I said previously, it’s all just a little silly.

However, that was just my first impression, once I got into the plot it became an enjoyable read. I even began to wonder what would happen next. It also helped that I eventually discovered a glossary in the back that told me what in the He** a tumanhofer was.

I give this book 3 out of 5 stars. The plot moved quickly and wasn’t boring, the characters were mildly engaging and there was a subtle Christian overtone. Actually, the Christian theme was so subtle I wasn’t even sure it was there until I looked up other reviews online. As this is the second book in a series, I believe that reading the first book would have made this book more interesting. All in all, I would recommend this book to others, especially my 12-year-old daughter. After reading it I am moderately interested in reading the author’s other works, but they are in the bottom third of my extensive ‘to-read’ list.

Disclaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

