Here Burns my Candle by Liz Curtis Higgs

Here Burns my Candle is a retelling of the biblical story of Ruth, set in Scotland during the Jacobite rising of 1745. Elizabeth Kerr is the lone Jacobite in a noble family loyal to King George. She is a Highlander, from a common family, who is married to Lord Kerr, a noble lowlander. Eventually, the entirety of the Kerr family comes to support the Jacobite cause, and loses everything in the process.

This book is a fantastic retelling of the story of Ruth and Naomi. Elizabeth, is a loyal wife, friend, and daughter-in-law. As a young widow, she chose (as Ruth did) to stay with her mother-in-law instead of returning to her family.

I really enjoyed this book, I rate it as 4 out of 5 stars. My biggest problem with the story is that much of it is written in Scottish vernacular. I understand why the author chose to do this, but it got tiresome quickly.  The biblical theme was subtle enough that I didn’t even realize it was there until the closing chapters, there were points in the plot that truly shocked me. I’m excited for the sequel, I can’t wait to see what happens to the Kerr women next!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

