The Charlatan’s Boy by Jonathan Rogers

Young Grady has no memory of who he is, who his parents are, or where he came from.  As long as he can remember he’s been with Floyd, a liar, cheat, and general all-around charlatan. Poor Grady, the only person who could possibly tell Grady where he comes from is a world-class fraud.

Floyd and Grady make a living by tricking people. Grady dresses up in costumes and Floyd passes him off as a real-live feechie; a largely mythical race of wild, savage creatures. As years go by, people begin to believe in feechies less and less. Floyd needs to figure out a new career choice, but options are limited. Eventually, Floyd has the idea to revive the feechie trade, by fabricating another large-scale feechie scare. It works, but unintended consequences result.

The Charlatan’s Boy is a fun, whimsical story. The book is geared toward older children, and hits the mark. As an adult, I didn’t find it particularly compelling; it was quick and easy to read but I was in no way reluctant to put it down. If I were rating this book for an adult audience I would give it 3 stars; I liked it, but didn’t love it.

However, this book is for kids. With that audience in mind I give this book 4 stars. It’s a fun story suitable for advanced readers and has no objectionable content. That’s quite a rare find these days! I think my 12-year-old will enjoy it, but it won’t become one of her favorite books. It’s not a story that she (or I) will reread over and over again. It was fun to read once, but thats probably enough. However, I am interested to see what happens next in Grady’s story. I will read the next installment, but it’s not at the top of my ‘to-read’ list.

Disclaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. The opinions expressed are my own, I am in no way obligated to publish a favorable review.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “The Charlatan’s Boy by Jonathan Rogers

  1. I appreciate your review of Rogers’ latest book. I agree with almost everything you write about it. I think, however, I would disagree that it’s not for adults. Granted, it’s marketed to young adults, but there’s one thing that I think makes it great for adults, too.

    The whole book is a coming of age for Grady, but in the midst of it he’s trying to figure out who he is, and finds his identity as a person and fights against the person he needs to act like in order to stay in step with Floyd. For readers who are looking for themes of faith in a book like this, one can find a searching for a deeper identity – one found in baptism – one to which Grady can return when he realizes who he’s been all along.

    Have you read Rogers’ trilogy that takes place in the same country of Corenwald? It’s even better and follows the Biblical story of a young King David.

    Thanks for your thoughtful posts.

    • Thanks for the comment!! I think you’re right in that adults can certainly get something out of this book as well. I haven’t yet read Rogers’ other trilogy, but I’ll put it on my ‘list’, thanks for the recommendation! I’ll be interested to read the next installment in Grady’s story. Perhaps I’ll get more out of it now that I’m a little more familiar with Corenwald…

  2. You bet. Hey, wondering how you get a gig like that: publishers sending you a copy so you can review. Sounds like the kind of thing I’d be interested in doing. Any advice?

  3. Hello! I like your review!

    BTW, I rated your review on the publisher website, and I was wondering if you could rate mine? http://noahsreads.blogspot.com/2011/05/crisis-i-need-your-help.html

Leave a Reply

