Conversations and Cosmopolitans by Robert Rave and Jane Rave

Conversations and Cosmopolitans is an unflinchingly honest memoir of sorts written by Robert Rave after coming out to his parents. Each chapter relates an experience he had after coming out and is followed by commentary from his mother, Jane Rave.

The book is written openly and honestly; the author leaves almost nothing (and I mean nothing!) out. In some places I cringe with embarrassment for Robert, and in many, many other places I laughed out loud.

Rave had a pleasing writing style; I really admire his dry humor and wit. I enjoyed this book, I’ll give it 3.5 out of 5 stars. It was a quick, entertaining read, but not something I’ll read more than once. I really admire the author’s courage, both in regards to coming out in the first place and certainly in regards to publishing some of the more embarrassing anecdotes.

The book, in my opinion, is less about being gay, and more about developing an unbelievably honest relationship with his mother. Plus, its funny as heck. This book is self-deprecating humor at its very best.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

