The Glister Journals: Bronze by BB Shepherd

Bronze is the first novel in a four-part series called The Glister Journals. It introduces us to Allison, a girl moving to a new place and a new school just in time for the start of her freshman year in high-school. Allison has always felt unpopular and out-of-place, and expects her new school to be no different. She is introduced to a group of people unlike any she has ever met before, and is surprised and shocked when she becomes included into the group. The next year is one of awakening for Allison; her new friends surpass her wildest expectations and she tries things she would have never considered before them. As a result, Allison really begins to grow; she becomes more assertive and independent, and has adventures she never would’ve dreamed about in the past.

I absolutely loved this book! It had me riveted from the first page. I can’t really put my finger on what it was that I found so interesting, but I am hooked!

The characters are beautifully developed and multi-dimensional. I especially love the Calderas, I am fascinated by their family dynamics and was left wanting more. Besides creating characters that are ‘real’, B.B. Shepherd also created characters that are truly likable! I found myself  really becoming invested in their lives.

Maybe the reason why I loved this book so much is that it is real, nothing is forced or phony. I remember being a freshman in high school, and I feel as though Allison’s emotions and actions are spot on. The desire to fit in and have true friends and the thrill and agony of your first real crush are things that everyone experiences; and Shepherd captured those feelings perfectly.

I also really liked that the author included a warning in the front of the book which stated that mild swearing and adult situations occur in the book. As a mother of a pre-teen I really appreciated that! I think that this book is definitely appropriate for high-school age students (and for older adults too!).  The swearing was very, very mild and there was no sex or drugs. I would let my 12-year-old read it without any qualms.

I will definitely read this book again! It earns a 5 out of  5 rating from me, which is rare!  At some points I blushed in embarrassment, chuckled out loud, or sobbed my heart out with Allison, and I love a book that can make me feel like the characters are real. Please hurry and finish the next three books, I can’t wait to find out what happens next!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

