The Harvest of Grace by Cindy Woodsmall

The Harvest of Grace is the third novel in the Ada’s House series. The main storyline follows Slyvia Fisher as she flees her home to work as a farm hand for an unrelated Amish family. She is determined to improve the farm and get it to turn a profit, but the owner’s son, Aaron, is just as determined to convince his father that the only option is to sell the farm. Aaron and Sylvia seem to be constantly at odds with each other, is it possible for them to see past their differences?

The Harvest of Grace was a difficult novel for me to get into; I could comfortably put it away for days at a time without thinking about it all. It wasn’t until the latter third  of the book that the characters started to really become interesting to me. To be fair, I have not read the first two books in the series, so I really wasn’t invested in the other plotlines.

I must also admit that the characters, for the most part, didn’t seem like Old Order Amish to me. I’ve read a bit of Amish fiction previously, and this book didn’t seem to have the same authenticity. That being said, I am certainly no expert on the Amish, so it could be entirely representative of the Amish culture, for all I know. However, if you are a fan of Beverly Lewis’s Amish fiction, be warned that the portrayal of the Amish in Woodsmall’s book is entirely different.

Overall, I would give this book 3.5 stars. It was a fine book, but it wasn’t outstanding. It was entertaining, but not enough for me to read it again or read the rest of the books in the series.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Waterbrook
Multnomah as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to
write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am
disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part
255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

