“By Faith, Not By Sight,” by Scott MacIntyre, an inspiring memoir from an inspiring man.

Ok. I’ll start this review off with an embarrassing confession. I’ve never seen an episode of American Idol. Ever. Not one single scene in one single episode. I am a complete Idol ignoramus. Accordingly,  reading an autobiography of a top-ten American Idol finalist may seem like a strange choice in reading material.  Actually, I had heard of Scott MacIntyre before reading his book; he was a speaker at a Women of Faith conference I went to a few months ago.  He told his story to a convention center full of women in Las Vegas, and left me wanting to know his whole story.

By Faith, Not By Sight Scott’s story told from his perspective. Scott was born very nearly blind, but he has overcome his disability in an amazing way. He taught himself how to play piano, by ear, at a very young age and started college at the tender age of 14! He is a musical genius and was selected as a Marshal scholar. However, as he was getting ready to study abroad in London he received devastating news. At only 19 years of age, Scott MacIntyre was in serious kidney failure.

By Faith, Not By Sight chronicles Scott’s life to date; starting with his precocious musical beginnings and continuing through to his stint on American Idol. However, the bulk of the book is about his struggle with renal disease. I really enjoyed the book. I grew to admire Scott’s tenacity and faith. He was able to write about his heath problems without sounding whiny or self-obsessed. He wrote honestly, but never resorted to the ‘poor me’ attitude that is so rampant in our culture. He also never credited himself with his recovery; he was effusive in thanking his live kidney donor but ultimately gave credit where it was due, to God.

Scott’s book is well-written and inspiring. I recommend it to anyone. I am truly amazed at his perseverance and faith; he can be an example to all of us.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Waterbrook
Multnomah as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to
write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am
disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part
255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

